Green Gables Readalong

This year, Reeder Reads launched the Green Gables Readalong. Participants read a book from the beloved Anne series each month, from January to August. Of course, I could not resist re-reading these books alongside other Anne fans, so I signed up right away.

In November, my daughter and I read Anne of Green Gables together (Okay, I totally cheated this month… Next month, I’ll be reading Anne of Avonlea at the same time as everyone else.) The book brought back many memories and emotions. Here is the blog post I wrote about our reading experience. It originally appeared in SPINE Online Magazine.

***

Don’t Call Her Carrots “You’d find it easier to be bad than good if you had red hair… People who haven’t red hair don’t know what trouble is.” – Lucy Maud Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables   Anne_CoverAfter my daughter Teagan and I finished reading Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery —the longest and most challenging novel we ever tackled— we celebrated our literary feat by watching the CBC TV adaptation starring Megan Follows. I remember having watched that production with my mother when it first aired on television in December of 1985. We had sat together stringing beads into Christmas garlands while giggling about Anne’s misadventures, especially those revolving around her “carrot” hair. It should be no surprise that I got emotional watching Anne with my daughter, nearly thirty years later. If my ten-year-old self had known she would one day have a beautiful, red-haired girl who’d be a dead ringer for Anne, she’d have been thrilled. I was curious about Teagan’s reaction to red hair being Anne’s “lifelong sorrow.” “So, Teagan, like Anne Shirley, you’re a redhead. Can you relate to Anne’s trouble accepting her red hair?” “No. I love my red hair. Maybe a hundred years ago, girls with red hair weren’t [considered] lucky. They are today. People are always telling me I’ve got pretty hair.” “Do you think that, maybe, there was something more to Anne not liking her hair?” When Teagan looked at me with a furrowed brow, I explained that Anne’s dislike of her hair is strongest at the start of the novel. It helps reveal her negative self-image. “That makes sense,” Teagan said. “She was rejected by everyone in the beginning. After her parents died, no one wanted her. She felt bad when nobody loved her.” “It must be difficult to love yourself when you don’t feel loved,” I said. Anne needs to find a reason for being cast aside. It’s easy for her to blame her temper and bad behavior on the striking hair that makes her different from other girls. Still, the longer she lives at Green Gables, the more she accepts herself and her red hair. AnneGables1“Why do you think Anne learns to embrace her hair, in the end?” “She finds love. Marilla and Matthew love her like a daughter. Diana Barry becomes her bosom friend.” “Are you saying that by letting others love her, she learns to love herself too?” “Yep.” “It’s a great story about learning to love yourself, isn’t it?” “Yep.” “Remember when Anne tries to dye her hair black? Would you ever dye your hair another colour?” Teagan wrinkled her nose and said, “No way! Three things make me stand out: having red hair, having blue eyes, and being left-handed. I love being special.” Apparently, my daughter has just the right amount of moxie.  Anne Shirley would approve, don’t you think?

***

Here is what other #GreenGablesReadalong participants had to say:

– Lindsay at Reeder Reads, the book blogger who spearheaded the readalong –  Naomi at Consumed by Ink, the blogger who shares a gazillion Anne covers with us – Eva at The Paperback Princess, one of many bloggers who read Anne with a new appreciation as an adult

7 thoughts on “Green Gables Readalong

  1. I love this conversation with your daughter. And, she really does look like she could be Anne! Thanks for linking to my post, Carole!

    Just a couple of weeks ago, I watched the 1985 movie of Anne with my kids, and remembered all the words. It’s still the best!

    • Carole Besharah says:

      Thank you so much Naomi! I still love the CBC movie too (even the campy bits!) . I’ve watched it a few times over the years, but probably not in the last decade. I actually had tears the first time I heard the theme music…

      Do you remember seeing it for the first time as a girl? You must have been right around the same age as me. SO. Good.

      I loved your post. So many book covers! My favorite is still the one with the Elly McKay artwork, thought the one with Lauren Child cover art is also gorgeous.

      • I was in grade 5 when the movie came out, and I was so excited! We bought a copy as soon as we could, so I watched it many times. I also asked my piano teacher for the theme song’s sheet music. I still have it, and I’m hoping my daughter will be able to try it soon. 🙂

      • Carole Besharah says:

        Nice. I was also in Grade 5! I got the two first books via Scholastic. That same year.

        My heart is happy with the thought of little Naomi playing the theme song on the piano.

      • I remember getting the first book when I was 8, but I didn’t read it right away. Then, I got the first six in a boxed set and the last 2 separately, but I can’t remember when. I do remember that I collected the rest of her books one at a time, each one a treasure. We often went to PEI in the summer and I would be allowed to pick out one book whenever we went, at the campground store. 🙂

  2. What a treat to be able to share this story with your daughter and to have her enjoy it as much as you do: lovely.

    I missed hearing about the readathon, but I’ll be rereading to catch up now. What fun!

Leave a Reply

