JULY #BOOKADAYUK: Week 2 Recap

The Doubleday UK twitter campaign is in full swing. The team asks avid readers daily, book-related questions during the month of July. Then, readers will share their answers with others on Twitter. It’s tons of fun. I hope you will join in. Here are my tweets for Week 2 of July’s #bookadayuk:

Defening

 

Day 8: Fav Great War Novel: Deafening by Canadian writer Frances Itani (A deaf newlywed’s husband leaves to fight in WWI)

Day 9: Most irritating character in a novel: The narrator/journalist/author of Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. BLAH.

Day 10: Most memorable picnic: The tragic picnic scene in Enduring Love by Ian McEwan is etched im my mind forever.

 

 

 

Day 11: The book that [recently] made me cry: The Fault in Our Stars. Okay?

Day 12: Novel that best conjured a place for me: The Night Circus by @erinmorgenstern. Every tent of that travelling circus was enchanting.

Night-Circus-Cover

 

Day 13: Best title for a novel: P.S. Your Cat Is Dead by James Kirkwood Jr.

Day 14: Fav novel set in France: Ensemble c’est tout by Anna Gavalda. The last novel I actually read in French.

Check out my daily #bookadayuk tweets!

3 thoughts on “JULY #BOOKADAYUK: Week 2 Recap

  1. You wrote: Novel that best conjured a place for me: The Night Circus by @erinmorgenstern. Every tent of that travelling circus was enchanting.

    Absolutely! She excels at creating place – place that didn’t require me to wade through nine million completely unnecessary details. Those extra descriptions are like cobwebs to me – I have to swish them to the side.

    That said, I did think it was too bad her editor didn’t urge her to take out all those ‘discerns.’ He discerned. She discerned. He discerned again. Oh please.

    • Carole Besharah says:

      HA! That’s the kind of think that usually bothers me, but I didn’t pick up on it. If I ever read it again, I’ll hear your “Oh please” after each use of “discerned”. Tee hee!

Leave a Reply

