JULY #BOOKADAYUK: Week 1 Recap

When The Borough Press wrapped up the June #bookadayuk Twitter campaign, they handed over the torch to Doubleday UK. This new team will ask avid readers daily, book-related questions during the month of July. Then, readers will share their answers with others via Twitter. It’s tons of fun. I hope you will join in. Here are my tweets for Week 1 of July’s #bookadayuk:

ShadowPic

Day 1: A book that made you laugh out loud: About a Boy by Nick Hornby

Day 2: Fav Fantasy novel: A Feast For Crows. I wanted to throw the book after it crushed my heart, but I was holding my Kindle.

Day 3: Favorite novel in translation: The Shadow of the Wind Spanish writer Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Day 4: Favorite American novel: A Prayer for Owen Meany. Learned all about Vietnam (and heartbreak) when reading it as a teen.

MasterChefsDay 5: Best novel for foodiesThe Bedroom Secrets of the Master Chefs by Irvine Welsh

Day 6: Wimbledon: A Canadian book to celebrate Eugenie Bouchard’s awesomeness: The Summer of My Amazing Luck by Miriam Toews

Day 7: Most Chocolatey novel: Is there a better one than Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel? Sweet read.

 

Happy tweeting!

7 thoughts on “JULY #BOOKADAYUK: Week 1 Recap

  1. Great choices! Owen Meany is a personal favorite, although I still think The Cider House Rules is Irving’s best work. (A friend and I argue this all the time. She in convinced Owen Meany is perfection.) My foodie pick would be Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential; fav fantasy novel is The Lord of the Rings trilogy, which I know is cheating because it’s really three instead of one, but whatever. I’m a cheater. 🙂 PERFECT chocolate pick. I would have chosen the same because really, is there any other?

  2. Carole Besharah says:

    Your friend is right, Madhuri. A Prayer For Owen Meany IS perfection. I am rereading it for the first time at the moment. I remember the awesome conclusion so well, so I am picking up all these carefully woven threads that lead to it. So well crafted. I cannot contest LOT or even The Hobbit –I love Tolkien. I’ll have to check Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential. Thanks for reading.

  3. buriedinprint says:

    I loved Summer of My Amazing Luck. I’ve heard it said that it’s not as polished as some of her later novels, but all the components are there, and I read it in nearly a single-sitting because the characters are so well-developed and the tone so inviting. I also love your chocolate-y choice: I’m not sure there is another.

    • Carole Besharah says:

      I agree, Toews’ characters are well-developed and believable. I hear that her latest novel is harrowing. I LOVE that others have loved Like Water For Chocolate too. I read it when I was 19, and I still (two decades later) find myself thinking of that enchanting story. Thanks for reading and sharing!

      • buriedinprint says:

        LWfC often crosses my mind when I am in the kitchen, the idea of our emotions infusing the food we create. It’s one of those details that has stayed with me. But, I read it as long ago as you did, and I haven’t dared to go back to it, fearing that it might be one of those “best in that moment” reads.

Leave a Reply

