#BOOKADAYUK: A Fun Twitter Campaign for Book Nerds (1 of 3)

Oh, what fun fellow book nerds! Check out The Borough Press’s June #bookadayuk (formerly #bookaday) Twitter campaign. They ask us silly, daily questions about books we have read, then we share our answers with others on Twitter. I’ve had a late start, but here are my first four answers:

DAY 1: Favorite book from childhood: The Monster at the End of This Book by John Stone

Grover
DAY 2
: Best bargain: When I was 17 years old, I picked up a copy of A Prayer for Owen Meany in the bargain bin at Coles. I feel in love with John Irving that day.

DAY 3: One with a blue cover: The first one that jumps to mind is my copy of The Great Gatsby with the iconic cover image.

 

DAY 4: Least favorite book by favorite author: The WaterMethod Man by John Irving (that was painful to write).

Check my daily tweets for #bookaday @GrandBarda. I hope to read some of your tweets too. Cheers!

9 thoughts on “#BOOKADAYUK: A Fun Twitter Campaign for Book Nerds (1 of 3)

    • Carole Besharah says:

      I agree Alena, I felt conflicted too. In the end, we do not love all books equally, even those written by a favorite author. The next bunch of questions aren’t so negative (PHEW!). Thanks for reading!

  1. I didn’t mind The Water Method Man so much, but realized I had outgrown my love affair with John Irving when I tried to read A Son of the Circus. That said, I still think A Prayer for Owen Meany is damn near perfect, but nothing beats The Cider House Rules. Nothing.

  2. Carole Besharah says:

    Hey Madhury,

    The Cider House Rules was great too. The movie based on that novel was the best John Irving film adaptation –by far. I’m actually rereading A Prayer for Owen Meany (I read it as a teenager, 20 years ago. I am LOVING it.) Cheers!

    • Carole Besharah says:

      It’s silly but fun. I enjoy reading other people’s answers. I’ll be looking out for your answers, Madhuri! (Note the new hashtag: #bookadayuk).

Leave a Reply

